Working Hours



Switchboard +420 597 371 111

+420 597  371  111
+420 738  141  111


As soon as in interwar period, the pathology department was a part of the hospital in Ostrava-Poruba, where the first head was the health councillor MUDr. Jan Renč.



The modern history of pathology in Zábřeh then starts with the appearance of Doc. MUDr. Čestmír Dvořáček, who gathered around him young enthusiasts like the later Professor MUDr. Pavel Miřejovský and others. His deputy was MUDr. Dagmar Pospíšilová and, after her premature death, MUDr. Libuše Pohlídalová. The chief laboratorian Růžena Millerová was an indispensable part of pathology department. During the office of Assistant Professor MUDr. Dvořáček, pathology in the region developed due to establishment of new chief physician offices with erudite pathologists of reputation. Let us name at least some of them the roots of whom are connected with the Institute of Pathology in Ostrava - Zábřeh: MUDr. Zdeněk Madák, MUDr. Jaroslav Štěrba, MUDr. Alois Bura, MUDr. Jan Můr, MUDr. Talandová, MUDr. Odolen Rozhold, MUDr. Antonín Tichý and MUDr. Táňa Kyselá. In 1980, when the Assistant Professor Dvořáček retired, the office of the head was taken over by Doc. MUDr. Jaroslav Horáček CSc., with his deputy MUDr. Jan Nieslanik. When the chief laboratorian retired, Marie Zajícová was chosen to assume this office. The team consisted of as many as 14 pathologists, major part of them being fresh graduates - MUDr. Hana Pospíšilová, MUDr. Igor Dvořáček, MUDr. Jana Dvořáčková, MUDr. Petr Blasch, MUDr. Karel Dědič, MUDr. Vladimír Benčík and MUDr. Jiří Petráš.


The revolution year 1989 brought changes into this centre as well. MUDr. Romuald Čuřík was appointed the head of the institute, his deputy was MUDr. Jana Dvořáčková, Marie Zajícová remained to be the chief laboratorian. The number of physician team members slowly reduced partly due to pathologists leaving out of the Ostrava region, partly due to change of workplace, privatisation and departure from the field.


Since 1993, the Institute of Pathology forms a part of the University Hospital in Ostrava-Poruba.


In 2007 there are 5 physicians working at the pathology department including the head MUDr. Romuald Čuřík - MUDr. Tomáš Waloschek, MUDr. Romana Andělová, MUDr. Kateřina Adamková a MUDr. Jana Bartusková. MUDr. Jana Dvořáčková, Ph.D. was appointed the head of the Institute of Pathology in May 2007.